Moments That Take Your Breath Away

I love country music. Grew up listening to Johnny Cash and Tom T. Hall on 33′s (long-playing vinyl albums) and 8-track tapes (’60′s and ’70′s version of an iPod).

Today, I’m a huge George Strait fan. Have been for 20 years.

My wife says I’m beyond fandom, I have a full-fledged, bona fide,”man crush”.

If I were in a court of law and standing trial, I would have to plead, unapologetically–GUILTY.

For me, it doesn’t get any better than listening to King George sing “The Chair” and “Amarillo By Morning”. His new stuff is really good too.

In one of his newer songs he sings, “it’s not the breath you take, but the moments that take your breath away”. I started thinking about all the moments that took my breath away.

My grandmother, Nana as she was known, buying my first bicycle when I was 6 years old. It was green and white with those “chopper” style handlebars. It was “groovy”.

My first kiss. I was in 7th grade. Not really much of a kiss, more like a quick brushing of the lips, but it was a big deal at the time.

The moment I first laid eyes on the girl who would later become my wife and then 5 years later, watching her walk down the aisle with her father on our wedding day. My best day.

The birth of my children. Probably the only time anyone has ever seen me cry.

The special moments go on and on. My first father-daughter dance, my son’s pinewood derby race, the Arkansas Lady Razorback volleyball game when both my kids won the coloring contest and a sack full of toys.

I can still hear the echoes of my son playing “Amazing Grace” on his violin at my mother’s funeral.

Each and every one took my breath away.

But shouldn’t we feel that way about every day?

I don’t know if it’s because I’m middle-aged now and my journey is seemingly half-way complete. Or that both my parents are gone and I realize now how valuable each day truly is.

I’m reminded of the quote, “Live for today, for tomorrow is promised to no one”.

Wise advice.

We should approach each day as if it were brand new and live it like it was our last.

If you think about it, it is brand new. In the history of time, there will never be another today. Once it’s over, its’ over. You can’t get it back.

Regretfully, in my life, I’ve had one too many days slip by almost unnoticed. Nothing special, nothing to remember. Just another day.

How sad.

Squandering the gift of “TODAY”.

From this moment forward, I’m trying to approach each day with a sense of wonderment. Eager to experience everything it holds. The sights, the sounds, the smells–everything. And when I lay my head down at night, thankful for the joy the day brought me.

I’m living each day for those “moments that take my breath away”.

It’s the Journey.

About stevelallison

A native Oklahoman, Steve enjoys sharing experiences that make up his "Journey".
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Success, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

